Ravelympics 2010

I always wanted to be in the Olympics. Either a gymnast or figure skater depending on the season. My shocking lack of flexability and inability to perform the most basic tumbling moves, the cartwheel and forward roll, eliminated gymnastics and my shocking lack of grace and balance eliminated figure skating. I thought that was it, my chance at being an Olympic athlete was over.

And then I found Ravelry. (For those non-knitters/crocheters/spinners….Ravelry is a social networking site. And it allows you to organize your knitting/crocheting and yarn and has a database of every yarn/pattern ever existed. It is my favorite knitting tool). And two years ago stumbled upon the Ravelympics group. Finally, my dreams of becoming an Olympic athlete could come true. Kind of.

Ravelympics is “2 weeks of focused, intense personal & team challenges to tackle while watching the actual Olympics unfold before our eyes.” It has rules and prizes, which makes it a competition to me. And it’s a challenge! You cast-on a project during the Opening Ceremony, and have to have it completed by the Closing Ceremony 17 days later.

During the 2008 Sumer Ravelympics I made my first pair of socks and handwarmers. I cut it close, not finishing the socks until the last day. And this was with no school and when I was working a job that allowed 2-3 hours of free time in the afternoons.

This year, I’m planning on 4 projects during the busy portion of the quarter. Its borderline hopelessly overcommitted. To make it affordable, I’m only using stash yarns as part of the great de-stashation of 2010. Training is complete (busted out 9 dishcloths in a week, as part of said de-stashing and swatched for the hats). And the equipment is ready: each wound ball is sitting in a ziplock bag with the necessary needles and all of the patterns are loaded on my iPod Touch. I’m getting a little antsy looking at the bags, ready to go. I can’t imagine what it feels like to be an actual Olympian, waiting it out in Vancouver!

Ravelympics 2010 Projects list

1. Citron by Hilary Smith Callis in Knit Picks Shadow color: Midnight. Pretty little shawlette that I’ve already knit once, but ran out of yarn. Love the pattern so I’m reknitting it in this laceweight I have a hank+ laying around. (Events: Short Track Shawls, Stash Compulsory Dance)

3. Citron by Hilary Smith Callis in Malabrigo Sock color: Impressionist Sky, knit on size 7 Knit Picks Zephyr Options. This project is a mess. I don’t like the yarn in this pattern, and even after shorting it, I still ran out of yarn. So I’m going to frog it and use the yarn for another project. (Event: Aerial Unwind)

3. Felicity by Wanett Clyde in Malabrigo Sock color: Impressionist Sky. This was formerly the yarn used in Citron, but I didn’t like the way it draped and ended up running out of yarn anyway. Found sock yarn mods for this hat. I’m excited about it, especially since the mods I found also include eyelets, making it a little more “feminine”. (Events: Hat Halfpipe, Single Skein Speed Skate)

4. Chapeau Marnier by Marnie McLean in Knit Picks Essential color: Black. Not so sure how this hat is going to turn out. Hopefully cute. I get serious Blair Waldorf vibes of of this for some reason. (Events: Hat Halfpipe, Stash Compulsory Dance)

1 Comment

Filed under Knitting

One response to “Ravelympics 2010

  1. Pingback: Ravellenic Games 2012 | Roads…which one will I take?

Leave a Reply

