30 Day Meme: Day 5

05. Your favorite quote

No, honestly, I am dumb. Most of the time I’m playing smart.

-Sam Seaborn, The West Wing.

This one…speaks to me. It IS me, or at least how I feel most of the time. I have the ability to be knowledgeable about the dumbest things, while lacking in other areas. (But isn’t that how most of us are?) Plus, I used to want to be Sam Seaborn. He was awesome.

All I ask is one thing, and I’m asking this particularly of young people: please don’t be cynical. I hate cynicism, for the record, it’s my least favorite quality and it doesn’t lead anywhere. Nobody in life gets exactly what they thought they were going to get. But if you work really hard and you’re kind, amazing things will happen.

– Conan O’Brien

Conan gets a lot of flack for the type of humor he has- you know the Masturbating Bear and Triumph weren’t necessarily the smartest humor out there. A lot of comments in news stories/blog postings in January (and since then) insulted both the intelligence of Conan and his fans. It’s lost on people that Conan ISN’T an idiot; the man went to Harvard for goodness sake. And it isn’t like he flailed through college…dude is smart. When the mess at NBC happened, I don’t think anyone truly knew what to expect from Conan’s last show. In the final segment, we got to see a raw, unfiltered Conan. Instead of being bitter and angry that he was losing his job, he was being sincere and talking to those fans that WERE bitter and angry that Conan was losing his job. And he gave this speech that was kind of inspiring and emotional and fantastic. And this part is something that I try and keep in the back of my head these days when all that I want to be is cynical.

1 Comment

Filed under 30 Day Meme, Television

One response to “30 Day Meme: Day 5

  1. Pingback: 30 Days Meme: Master Post « Roads…which one will I take?

Leave a Reply

