30 Day Meme: Day 14

14. a non-fiction book

Ugh. It’s been too long since I’ve read a n0n-fiction book that didn’t fall in to the “textbook” or “required reading” category. I haven’t even found a chance to read the Band of Brothers books. I’m a big fan of autobiographies/biographies/memoirs. One of my favorites I’ve ever read is Lance Armstrong’s It’s Not About the Bike: My Journey Back to Life. Say what you will about the man at the present, but this is truly an incredible and inspiring  story. It’s been a while since I read it (the last time was back in 2008 when I met him) so I’m not going to go into specifics, but I will tell you he doesn’t hold back on anything from childhood to cancer treatments to the IVF treatments his wife went through. It starts at the beginning and ends after Armstrong’s first Tour De France win and the birth of his eldest son, Luke. It’s not a book about cycling or cancer, it’s a book about life and is well worth a read.

Armstrong’s second memoir Every Second Counts is worth a read as well, but is much more about cycling, following Armstrong through his second  through fifth Tour victories and the celebrity that follows.

Anyone have some suggestions of bios/memoirs for me to read since I’m about to have time on my hands?

1 Comment

Filed under 30 Day Meme, Books

One response to “30 Day Meme: Day 14

  1. Pingback: 30 Days Meme: Master Post « Roads…which one will I take?

Leave a Reply

