In her daughter’s eyes…

Happy Mother’s Day to all the moms/grandmas/aunts/godmothers out there! I am unbelievably blessed to have three amazing women in my life. They’ve been there since the beginning and as I get older I realize how special they are. And how much I care for them. And how much of an impact they’ve had on me.

I am a hero/I am strong and wise/And I know no fear –In My Daughter’s Eyes, Martina McBride

I rag on my mom a lot. She’s a little…overprotective at times. I joke that I’m going to end up in the basement after graduation…and I think that she secretly would be excited about that. But I know so many mom’s that wouldn’t even offer that…I am blessed to have her as a mom. I can tell her (almost) anything. She’s frank and always tells me the truth whether I want to hear it or not. And usually she gets to hear “Mom, you were right…” after I’m done being mad and think about it. She works this crazy, stressful job as a nurse and yet still made it to all three of her daughters dance recitals, band concerts,  awards ceremonies and games. She made treats for school parties and birthdays. She played taxi, carting us from activity to activity. She encouraged us, always told us that we could do it. She has had faith in me when I haven’t had it in myself.

Mama you taught me to do the right things/So now you have to let your baby fly/You’ve given me everything that I will need/To make it through this crazy thing called life/And I know you watch me grow up and always want whats best for me… –Mama’s Song, Carrie Underwood

I have an awesome grandma. She listens to me talk about the dumbest things. She always asks about things like NASCAR, and never once has been condescending about it. She’s the type of grandma any kid would want. On Easter, after my mom would tell us that we’ve had enough candy, she would always announce that it’s Easter and we could have as much as we wanted. When we were little, a HUGE thing was to spend the week at PawPaw and Grandma’s by ourselves. She took often me to the Disney summer movie then, buying the matching promotional candy. She’s incredibly special to me for so many reasons.

She’s never pulled anyone from a burning building/She’s never rocked Central Park to a half a million fans, screaming out her name/She’s never hit a shot to win the game/She’s never left her footprints on the moon/She’s never made a solo hot air balloon ride, around the world, /No, she’s just your everyday average girl (but)/She’s somebody’s hero/A hero to her baby with a skinned up knee/A little kiss is all she needs/The keeper of the cheerios/The voice that brings Snow White to life/Bedtime stories every night/And that smile lets her know/She’s somebody’s hero –Somebody’s Hero, Jamie O’Neal

My aunt is incredibly fun. She’s in the ‘know’ about all of the trendy things. We have a lot in common. There’s also the not so fun things….like the time that she scared the crap out of 2 year old me at Easter and the other time that I was 3 or 4 and she pulled my elbow out of the socket (as discussed here). I think I’ve gotten over those incidents though. 😉 It’s more than the memories though and how fun she is. I really look at her and see a strong woman. I look at some of the things she’s gone through and see where a lesser woman would have walked away from it all.

In my daughter’s eyes /I can see the future /A reflection of who I am /And what will be… –In My Daughter’s Eyes, Martina McBride

I keep getting asked what I want I’m going to be when I ‘grow-up’. Even though I’m a month away from graduating, I’m still not sure what profession I want. I DO know that I want to be just like these women. In my eyes, they’re EXACTLY who I want to be.

The meeting of the minds, preparing Christmas dinner in 2002. (There’s a strong possibility that I’m going to get three angry phone calls today. Oh well. It’s their fault for never being in pictures together…)
Leave a comment

Filed under About Me

Leave a Reply

