It’s my city, I’m the king of New York

So this past weekend I went to New York City. The scholars group I’m a part of at Ohio State goes every May. It’s hard to believe it’s my last trip. I was the only one from my class to go, and the third oldest student. That really made it sink in that my time at OSU is almost done. It also provided some perks: as our trip wasn’t ‘sold out’, we had extra seats on the bus. I got two. Which means I go to sleep some on the way in, which was nice. The weekend was full of business and museum visits, walking, musicals and going up and down (and up and down) Manhattan.

Friday, we went on business visits. This year I got the opportunity to visit the New York Times. That was a really interesting experience. It wasn’t what I was expecting at all. The newsroom was…chill. It was a very casual and relaxed atmosphere. We met with the national editor, who was just wearing a button-down and jeans. It was the opposite of what I thought. It was interesting to hear what they had to say about the future of the newspaper and how they’re trying to adapt to new media. I think that The Times has it figured out where they’re going to be around for while.

We also visited Thornberg & Forester, a new-ish design company. They created titles for Next Iron Chef, GE, Target, Planet Green, The Science Channel and others. The guys there were also very chill. It was suprising how tiny of a company it was for the work that they’ve done. I always imagine that the company should be bigger.

The rest of the day we wandered Central Park. It was the first time I got a chance to see Strawberry Fields and The Dakota. A couple of years ago, The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame had a Lennon exhibition, including the hospital bag with the clothes he was wearing that night. I vividly remember the glasses. It was interesting to finally make it to The Dakota. It felt full circle. We actually ended up, after a stop in Times Square, going all the way down to Battery Park that night. It was gorgeous.

Saturday we were heading out to the Staten Island Ferry…on our way there we found out that one had crashed. So that was out. Someone had the idea to walk to the Brooklyn Bridge…so we did. After we continued walking to Little Italy for lunch, which was delicious!

Saturday afternoon we went to the Guggenheim. I’m not a big ‘art’ person, but there were some interesting things. The architecture was beautiful.

That night it was time for my favorite thing….Broadway! We did two lotteries- starting at Wicked. One guy from our group won the first set of tickets. Then we hit up next to normal because their lotto was staggered. Same guy from Wicked one, which got him even more groans then at Wicked. It ended up that 5 of us won tickets. I’ve been dying to see this show since last June and the Tony Awards. So when my name was called for the lottery, I screamed out “holy shit”, much to the amusement of the rest of the group I was with. (I did a review/recap of next to normal that you can find here) It was fantastic and exceeded my expectations. Sadly, it was much too windy to stage door that night. Winds were gusting somewhere between 30 and 50 mph. We also made it out to Chelsea, thinking about Upright Citizens Brigade, but the show didn’t sound that interesting that night, which was a disappointment. Last year was a hilarious show that combined paintballs and stand-up, which is always a win.

Sunday we had brunch in a little cafe on the Upper West Side, then went to Dylan’s Candy Bar, which was AMAZING. Everything I got was delicious. The store is so cute too, colorful and has literally every candy imaginable. I even found candy buttons. I got the ‘gourmet’ ones that don’t stick to the paper, so it’s not quite the same, but does take me back! Following Dylan’s we headed to 5th Avenue. We only made it into the Apple Store, and basically…iPad I’m sorry for saying you’re stupid. I kind of want one now, even though I’m not sure how pratical it is still, but I do want one. Dang it. And then we went to Magnolia. Didn’t get down to the original, but still, the cupcakes were there and they are delicious. I brought some home. Double om nom nom.

The weekend was such a whirlwind. I didn’t get to do anything really ‘new’ this year, but that’s okay. Eventually I’ll get a chance to do those things…more importantly I had a lot of fun with some great people I didn’t really know before this weekend!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a comment

Filed under Musicals, Ohio State, Photos, Travel

Leave a Reply

