Destiny Found.

(Turns out I wrote about Lost a couple of weeks ago, before the start of the final “act”. But I’m writing about it again. You know why? Because it’s my blog. And like John Locke- don’t tell me what I can’t do.)

“The End” happens in seven hours. We’ve known this was coming. They told us on May 7, 2007: after this day, there would be no more. But that doesn’t make it any less emotional.

Having an end date was the best thing to happen to the series after the pilot. It made sense; it was right. Storylines came together, answers came (especially in the last season). But it doesn’t mean that I don’t want it to end.

I’ve done this before, felt the end in a fandom. Not that it’s the true end. But over the next weeks, months, it will die off. Slowly. Bit by bit.

But not tonight. Tonight is a beginning and “The End”. The beginning of one phase and “The End” of another in the evolution of this fandom, this story. And I look forward to it.

But that doesn’t mean that Tuesday at 9, I won’t feel like something’s missing.

ETA: 12:26 5/24 – It’s over. And I don’t know what/how to think/feel. It’s intense and not what I was expecting and I still need to think things through. But I do know the ride was something special and amazing and I am forever grateful that I took a chance on this show. Thank you J.J. Abrams for starting this ride and Damon Lindeloff, Carlton Cuse, Jack Bender, Michael Giacchino and the entire cast and crew of Lost for getting us to this point.

(Carlton Cuse and I at Ohio State for “Follow the Leader”, the penultimate episode of season 5, May 2009)

1 Comment

Filed under Television

One response to “Destiny Found.

  1. Pingback: (good) Summer TV « Jesslyn8706

Leave a Reply

