How Firm Thy Friendship…

You have brains in your head. You have feet in your shoes. You can steer yourself any direction you choose. You’re on your own. And you know what you know. And you are the one who’ll decide where to go.

Will you succeed? Yes you will indeed! (98 and 3/4 percent guaranteed) –Oh, The Places You’ll Go!, Dr Seuss.

It’s the easiest game of Where’s Waldo ever.

I’m a graduate of The Ohio State University (along with 8,000+ others who graduated on June 13th). Me. I did it. This chapter is over. It feels like it just began. After 17 years, I am no longer a student (for now. Recent developments have me interested in grad school. Stay tuned to see how that turns out.) Commencement day was actually a bit of a whirlwind. Even with a 3 hour ceremony. We had a great speaker in David Gergen, former advisor to Presidents Ford, Reagan, Bush and Clinton . And an amazing one in university president E. Gordon Gee, whom I love very much. He was enough of a speaker for me. (Although, last month at the Conan show, he said since it was in an auditorium, it counted as commencement. I would go with that too.) Much like my high school graduation, too much was going on for me to get emotional. Except for a little bit during “Carmen Ohio”.  That was a given though. I cried during “Carmen” at the last football game…

The night before commencement, there was a candlelight ceremony including a student speaker, who was hilarious comparing graduation to retirement. That WAS were I got emotional. “Carmen” AND candles? I’m done. Plus before hand, my former roommate and I got a picture with President Gee, and I got a hug, which was pretty much a highlight of my weekend.

All in all, it was a lovely weekend. A week later, I still can’t believe it happened. I can say that I am an alumna of The Ohio State University.

Don’t cry because it’s over. Smile because it happened.

1 Comment

Filed under Ohio State, Photos

One response to “How Firm Thy Friendship…

  1. Pingback: The Bucket List | Roads…which one will I take?

Leave a Reply

