A three hour tour.

Just sit right back and you’ll hear a tale, a tale of a fateful trip. That started from this tropic port, aboard this tiny ship. -The Ballad of Giligan’s Island
I knit. I’ve talked about it here once or twice. There was a while when I was focusing on finishing school and didn’t knit for a while. But that’s changed. I started this shawl called Shipwreck in the beginning of June. It had some elements I had never attempted before, but I dove in (after carefully studying how to do the technique). And I couldn’t get it. So I tried some more. And I still couldn’t get it, so I tried a different technique. And there was victory. But the war was not over. Not even close my friends.

I started knitting. And I didn’t like the way it was looking. So I ripped it out. And re-did it. And knit a bunch more. And then broke a needle. And knit some more. I didn’t like the part that I just knit, and ripped that out. And then messed it up and had to start all the way back at the beginning. And then I got past that part, and on to the next section. And then got stuck knitting, ripping out, and re-knitting  this section (and rinse and repeat). About two weeks later, I finally finished that section. The next, and final section, required beads to be strung on the yarn. About 5,000 beads. Tiny beads. So I strung, and pushed the beads down a length of yarn, and knit, and more rinsing and repeating. A completed row took approximately two Sports Night episodes.

(Side note: how good was Sports Night? A: It’s a double rainbow. It started to look like a triple rainbow and then ABC cancelled it. Television is missing a good Aaron Sorkin show.)

Sports Night. This good.

And we’re back. After doing that for some length of time, I realized I may not have enough yarn to finish. So I’m doing this thing that knitters do where they knit faster because we are delusional enough to think that we’re going to make our yarn stretch out to the right amount. Sometimes it does work, but only because the stitches become tighter and use less yarn, which is not good quality.

But I found someone who has just enough of this yarn left over from another project for me to finish, and hopefully she’ll get back to me and let me take it off of her hands. And then I’m going to finish this, although not before my self-imposed deadline. The last project to take me this long was my first, ill-fated scarf back in the day (which was 2005).

All of this is okay though. Because I’m going to finish it, and I’ll feel accomplished, because this is a giant, beautiful lace shawl.  And then I’m going to enter it in the county fair, and hopefully win a ribbon. If I don’t, I’m going to look at it and feel proud. It’s going to look good and even though you won’t be able to see how much blood, sweat and tears (mostly sweat and tears) went into this shawl, I will know. I’ll know that I worked hard to get this shawl done. Even though I’m not sure what one does with a circular shawl.

Somewhere in this, there is a metaphor for my life. But I’m too busy knitting fast to figure it out.

4 Comments

Filed under Knitting, Television

4 responses to “A three hour tour.

  1. You have to post a picture of this beautiful shawl in which blood, sweat and tears went into.

    • jesslyn8706

      Don’t worry. I’ll post pictures as soon as it’s done. And I’ll wear it everywhere and tell everyone this harrowing tale.
      May be over-exaggerating, but whatever. It’s my life. I can tell the story anyway I want to 🙂

  2. Pingback: Land Ahoy! « Roads…which one will I take?

  3. Pingback: Do what you want … | Roads...which one will I take?

Leave a Reply

