They were guests…

Tonight is the Creative Emmy Awards. I thought I had it all covered in my first Emmy post…and then I remembered that Guest Acting is a part of this show. So this is my rushed attempt at getting my picks out there before the awards are announced! The last two parts in my Emmy predictions will be up this week…and then probably a reaction post after the show and realizing that the Emmy voters suck and clearly should have picked the way that I wanted to so I don’t have to admit that I’m wrong.. And who knows, I may even play fashion police. I need blog topics, and will milk this as long as possible….

Outstanding Guest Actor in a Drama Series: Beau Bridges (The Closer), Ted Danson (Damages), John Lithgow (Dexter), Alan Cumming (The Good Wife), Dylan Baker (The Good Wife), Robert Morse (Mad Men) and Gregory Itzin (24)

Lithgow won the Golden Globe for this role and I think he wins the Emmy too. He was just too good in that role. I’ve yet to finish season 4 because of how utterly creepy Trinity is.

Going from this….

…to this is the mark of a real actor. (It gets creepier. But I had to keep it SFW. And spoiler-free….)


Outstanding Guest Actress in a Drama Series: Mary Kay Place (Big Love), Sissy Spacek (Big Love), Shirley Jones (The Cleaner), Lily Tomlin (Damages), Ann-Margaret (Law and Order: SVU) and Elizabeth Mitchell (LOST)

I’m picking Mitchell because of this scene. Half of the reason is because she reunited with Sawyer. This may be a reason why I’ll never be able to vote for the Emmys. I’d pick the good looking people who fall in love and break my heart. Also, this is the only award that I’m picking the winner based on the fact that I just really like them darnit.

Outstanding Guest Actor in a Comedy Series: Mike O’Malley (Glee), Neil Patrick Harris (Glee), Fred Willard (Modern Family), Eli Wallach (Nurse Jackie), Jon Hamm (30 Rock) and Will Arnett (30 Rock)

I would love to see O’Malley win. His performances were consistently good, and quite often were followed by me ranting that I’m supposed to laugh during Glee and not cry. Plus, I want a guy who used to be on Yes, Dear and Guts to win an Emmy. My only concern is O’Malley’s best scenes were more dramatic than comedic. (see statement about me crying). In that case, Arnett all the way. I love when Devon shows up. Even more than Hamm. And you know I love me some Hamm.

If O’Malley does win, I’m expecting him to get a glowing piece of the Aggro Crag as his award. Also, yes, that is AJ from the Backstreet Boys.


Outstanding Guest Actress in a Comedy Series: Christine Baranski (The Big Bang Theory), Kathryn Joosten (Desperate Housewives), Kristin Chenoweth (Glee), Tina Fey (Saturday Night Live), Betty White (Saturday Night Live), Elaine Stritch (30 Rock) and Jane Lynch (Two and a Half Men)

Strong field, with a lot of lovely ladies. I loved Cheno on Glee. Loved her. I have to root against Lynch because she would be winning an award for Two and a Half Men. Plus, she’s going to get her moment next week at the big show. And anyway….It’s Betty’s world right now, we just live in it.

2 Comments

Filed under Television

2 responses to “They were guests…

  1. Pingback: We laughed. « Roads…which one will I take?

  2. Pingback: We cried. « Roads…which one will I take?

Leave a Reply

