We laughed.

This is part 3 of my Emmy collection. I’m planning on milking the Emmy’s for all they are worth, because I need blog topics, so there is going to be at least 2 more posts. We’ve gotten the general thoughts and some creative awards, as well as the guest picks out of the way. After the Creative Emmys (or Schemmys as Kathy Griffin calls them) I’m .400 in my picks. Not proud. Hopefully I can can boost my average with these comedy picks, and the drama awards that are coming on Thursday!

Outstanding Lead Actor in a Comedy Series: Jim Parsons (Big Bang Theory), Larry David (Curb Your Enthusiasm), Matthew Morrison (Glee), Tony Shalhoub (Monk), Steve Carell (The Office) and Alec Baldwin (30 Rock)

30 Rock gets lots of critical and award-show love, and this is the last nomination for Shalhoub in Monk, but I would love to see Parsons win for his work as Sheldon. He is beyond great as that character and really does an amazing job of transforming himself. Also the episode he submitted is awesome (it’s the one where Sheldon gets drunk…)

This also maybe the last nomination for Carell and he’s never won an Emmy for playing Michael Scott, which makes him a likely candidate for the “make the voters feel good” vote. The Emmys love to be sentimental. But I’m still gonna go with Parsons…

Outstanding Lead Actress in a Comedy Series: Lea Michelle (Glee), Julia Louis-Dreyfus (The New Adventures of Old Christine), Edie Falco (Nurse Jackie), Amy Pohler (Parks and Recreation), Tina Fey (30 Rock) and Toni Collette (The United States of Tara)

I think that Falco is going to get it. If  Michelle had submitted the pilot vs “Sectionals” (even with “Don’t Rain on My Parade”…) she would have a better chance. Pohler did an amazing job this season on Parks. Compare where the show was last season to this season, and it’s a whole new ballgame. She’s a darkhorse pick.

Outstanding Supporing Actor in a Comedy Series: Chris Coffer (Glee), Neil Patrick Harris (How I Met Your Mother), Jesse Tyler Ferguson (Modern Family), Eric Stonestreet (Modern Family), Ty Burell (Modern Family) and Jon Cryer (Two and a Half Men)

Anyone but Cryer and I’d be happy. In fact, I’m not sure why Cryer was nominated instead of Ed O’Neil (also from Modern Family) If NPH wins (which I’d like), it’s to make-up for last year’s injustice of Cryer wining over the heavily favored NPH. But after winning two awards at the Schemmys (one for the Tonys and the other for Glee) I don’t think he will. I’m not sure if the Modern Family guys are going to divide voters, but I’m going to pick Burell anyway. That show was one of the best all season, and he was the best on it.

Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Comedy Series: Jane Lynch (Glee), Julie Bowen (Modern Family), Sofia Vergara (Modern Family), Kristen Wiig (Saturday Night Live), Jane Krakowski (30 Rock) and Holland Taylor (Two and a Half Men)

I want to go with a Modern Family actress, but I’m not sure if they’re going to split voters. Lynch has a really good shot, although I’m iffy about the submission. I’m not sure if the Madonna episode was her strongest.  Again, not sure why someone from Two and a Half Men is listed on here. That show is evil. Evil I tell you.

Watch this. I dare you not to laugh once. God, how I love Sue Sylvester.

Outstanding Comedy Series: Curb Your Enthusiasm, Glee, Modern Family, Nurse Jackie, The Office and 30 Rock

The Office doesn’t have any business here. It probably has Two and a Half Men‘s spot though, which is okay by me. But still, Community should have that spot. I want to say Modern Family or 30 Rock, but I think Glee has a shot too based on every other freaking award show since the Golden Globes in January….but since there can only be one winner…I gotta go with Modern Family.

2 Comments

Filed under Television

2 responses to “We laughed.

  1. Pingback: We cried. « Roads…which one will I take?

  2. Pingback: They won. « Roads…which one will I take?

Leave a Reply

