“Holy Balls”*

*Bethenny’s catch-phrase. Not anything I’ve ever said, nor was it my reaction to meeting a reality star. Also, I have some video of the event up on my youtube channel if interested!

DSC00842

Saturday, our local CBS station hosted a health and fitness fair. Normally, I don’t pay any attention to those things. Except that this time, a very special guest would be there: Bethenny Frankel of Real Housewives of New York City fame. So of course, I dragged my butt outta bed and headed downtown (without my bottle of Skinnygirl margarita. Whoops!) It was a full day of Bethenny (I guess it had to be to get her there and leave her beautiful baby behind), with a Q&A about everything…RHONYC, Bethenny Getting Married, Martha Stewart, and of course…health and fitness (the day WAS about that, not how batty Kelly Killorian Bensimon is). She signed autographs, and then did a cooking demo. I love that she was Bethenny the entire time. How she is on “reality” television is how she is in reality. She’s snarky and says whatever comes to mind, and may be a little improper….things like burping into the mic and drinking out of a bottle of Skinnygirl, things that the Countess would be horrified by! Things that make me love her.

DSC00832

And it’s not just those things. It’s the things that I’ve seen on RHONYC…and even more so on BGM…she’s become a role model to me. She had a shitty life, and yet came through and has it all now. Just a few years ago, she was broke, couldn’t pay rent, and was alone, waiting for prince charming and kids… (sound familiar?). And now, she’s sucessful and has a goregous and sweet husband and an adorable and precious baby girl. Life wasn’t working out the way she was hoping, planning, and she persevered and it all worked out. That’s what I need to remember. It’s going to work out. I look at her and see hope, as hokey and pathetic as it sounds.

And that may be the reason why I was shaking and almost teary when I met her on Saturday. Just don’t judge me.

DSC00847

Oh yeah, she cooked too. Since she’s a chef (some call her a cook…) and all. She made mock-a-mole that was delicious, and I enjoyed more than the brownies that Eddie George made before her. What is this world coming to?
Leave a comment

Filed under Television

Leave a Reply

