We cried.

This is part 4 of my Emmy collection. I’m planning on milking the Emmy’s for all they are worth, because I need blog topics, so there is going to be at least one more post next week. We’ve gotten the general thoughts and some creative awards, the guest picks and the comedy awards out of the way. After the Creative Emmys (or Schemmys as Kathy Griffin calls them) I’m .400 in my picks. Not proud. Hopefully I can can boost my average with the Primetime Emmys, presented Sunday on NBC, hosted by Jimmy Fallon. Check back early next week to see what I think about who won and how horrible I am at guessing these things.

(Sorry about the lack of video examples in this…I couldn’t find the examples I wanted on youtube!)

Outstanding Lead Actor in a Drama Series: Bryan Cranston (Breaking Bad), Michael C. Hall (Dexter), Kyle Chandler (Friday Night Lights), Hugh Laurie (House), Matthew Fox (LOST) and Jon Hamm (Mad Men)

As I already mentioned back in part one, Chandler’s nomination is enough of a win for me. FNL is a show that is critically acclaimed since the beginning but has gotten little love from fans or award shows. I’ve heard nothing but amazing things about Cranston and Breaking Bad, and Hamm was impeciable as Don Draper; in fact, I think that this season was his strongest. And for the first time, I really thought Fox gave a strong performance all season. Hall won both the SAG and Golden Globe for the 4th season of Dexter, which was the strongest season yet, but that was before the most recent season of Breaking Bad. Cranston has my pick, although my dream is to have Chandler sneak in there and take the win.

Outstanding Lead Actress in a Drama Series: Kyra Sedgwick (The Closer), Glenn Close (Damages), Connie Britton (Friday Night Lights), Julianna Margulies (The Good Wife), Mariska Hargitay (Law and Order: SVU) and January Jones (Mad Men)

Like Kyle Chandler’s nomination, I’m just happy that Britton is getting some recognition, and while I’d love for her to win (and she’s my dark horse pick), I see this award going to Margulies. This is one of the few acting awards that seems pretty cut and dry for me.

Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Drama Series: Aaron Paul (Breaking Bad), Martin Short (Damages), Terry O’Quinn (LOST), Michael Emerson (LOST), John Slattery (Mad Men) and Andre Braugher (Men of a Certain Age)

O’Quinn and Emerson both had strong seasons (O’Quinn more so), but I think they will cancel each other out, especially as they are both previous winners. I don’t watch Breaking Bad, but I do know that  Aaron Paul’s name popped up on my Twitter feed often following new episodes of Breaking Bad. And he was snubbed last year, and this year was just as strong. He’s my pick.

Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Drama Series: Sharon Gless (Burn Notice), Rose Bryrne (Damages), Archie Panjabi (The Good Wife), Christine Baranski (The Good Wife), Christina Hendricks (Mad Men) and Elizabeth Moss (Mad Men)

I think that like the Lost gentlemen , the Good Wife actresses will cancel each other out. The episode that Hendricks chose to submit (“Guy Walks into an Advertising Agency”) is brilliant, and her best work, and second to only Jon Hamm in terms of acting on Mad Men. She’s my pick, however, Gless could sneak in there. She’s different, and she’s no stranger to the Emmys.

Outstanding Drama Series: Breaking Bad, Dexter, The Good Wife, LOST, Mad Men and True Blood

I can honestly say I have no idea. I don’t think True Blood has a chance, and LOST may not deserve an award for the season as a whole. So maybe I do have an idea. The competition is between Breaking Bad, Dexter, The Good Wife, and Mad Men...but from there, I have no clue. Mad Men has won two in a row…so lets pick them (although Breaking Bad could come sneak in there!)

1 Comment

Filed under Television

One response to “We cried.

  1. Pingback: They won. « Roads…which one will I take?

Leave a Reply

