Land Ahoy!

It’s done. I now understand the excitement that sailors had when they saw land for the first time after a long, treacherous voyage. Picking projects that have names that imply disaster is not the smartest idea. You may remember me talking about a shawl that I was knitting back in July, and it’s finally done. I never thought that this day would come, even though it needed to come, since I from the beginning planed on entering it in my local fair, which happens to be tomorrow.

I started this on June 5. 83 days later (guestimating an average of an hour and a half a day, that’s 124 hours or 5 days and 4 hours. I feel this guestimate is low) and I have finally cast off, wove ends in and blocked this sucker. In that time, I have graduated college, gone on vacation, filled out numerous job applications (and had a few interviews), and knit two market bags and an elephant.  It’s literally taken blood, sweat and tears (more sweat and tears, but there was a couple of paper cuts from the pattern…) to finish this. While knitting, I’ve watched Sports Night, Cougar Town, Make It Or Break It, Real Housewives of New Jersey, Bethenny Getting Married, Kelly freaking out on Real Housewives of New York City, most of this season of Army Wives, White Collar, The Kill Point, John Adams, late-night 4 hour blocks of The Nanny on Nick at Nite and more movies than I can remember. (If it had been a few months later, this would have been my LOST rewatch round 2 project. Then I would have had a definitive hour count…up until 112 or something like that) This shawl has been back and forth between Columbus and my hometown a couple of times, my grandparent’s and back a couple of times, and from my hometown to Washington DC to Chincoteague Island, VA and back.

This shaw is worth roughly $1227 ($20 yarn + $17 beads + 124hrs @ $10/hr). The $10/hr is a lowball estimate too. Some people I know charge $15/hr for knitting, and then 3 times the materials when they knit on commission (which would make this worth $1351). I wish I could knit and make a living. If only people would pay (and realize the true worth of handmade items!) that much.

Actually, now that I just figured out the true value of this shawl…maybe it was a dumb idea for it to go hang out at the fairgrounds for a week….

Project Specs:

Yarn: Valley Yarns 2/10 Merino Tencel (Colrain Lace) in colorway: Grey Blue,  purchased at WEBS

Pattern: Shipwreck Shawl, Knitty: Spring 2009 by Bethany Kok

Needles: Knitpicks Harmony Interchangeable, sizes 4, 8, 9, 10, 10.5 and 11

Time: June 5 – August 27, 2010

Size: ~60 inches. I was freaking out thinking it was too small, and just knit until I ran out of yarn. Just like me thinking I was going to run out of yarn…it was an unneeded fear. Luckily now, its a combination shawl/blanket/tablecloth.

3 Comments

Filed under Knitting

3 responses to “Land Ahoy!

  1. I was wondering when this post would pop up! I can’t believe how beautiful the shawl is; let me know if you win anything at the fair.

    I don’t have $1300 to spend on a beautiful shawl unfortunately 😦

    • jesslyn8706

      Yeah, moving got me all discombobulated and I forgot to take pictures until I had to run out the door to get it up to the fairgrounds! So the post was a little late, even though I’ve had it written for a week.
      And I’d be willing to cut you a discount. Maybe. 😉

  2. Pingback: Do what you want … | Roads...which one will I take?

Leave a Reply

