I wish I could go back to college…

…Life was so simple back then.

What would I give to go back and live in a dorm with a meal plan again!

I wish I could go back to college./In college you know who you are. /You sit in the quad, and think, “Oh my God!/I am totally gonna go far!”

For the past two weeks, I’ve watched with jealousy as my sister prepares to go back to college. She’s back in Columbus, back in the dorms, back on campus, back at school. She has at least 3 years before she sits, looking desperately for jobs, trying to figure out what to do with the rest of her life.

I was a strange one. I actually liked school. Well, I like the idea of school. Getting up to go to classes, especially general education ones…that’s a different story. But I know that I’m going to I AM missing school. I’m missing Ohio State and the comfort it brought me. I knew what the next day brought me….now, I’m not sure.

How do I go back to college?/I don’t know who I am anymore!

I wish I had taken more pictures.

But if I were to go back to college,/Think what a loser I’d be-/I’d walk through the quad,/And think “Oh my God…”

“These kids are so much younger than me.” – “I Wish I Could Go Back to College”, Avenue Q

We were just babies…the night before our first day of classes….with 4 years ahead of us. We could be anything we wanted to be. We were discovering ourselves and making plans, and we lived next door (or with) each other. (Although…that could have gone better. Think of how great of friends we’ll be when we live across the country now!) Life was easy. I’m not saying I want to go back and be that person again…but I wish time hadn’t gone by so fast.
There’s a road outside Columbus, Ohio./Feels like I drove along for years./this Midwest way of ease it surrounds us./I can’t deny the rhythm here./And as I pull away from Riverside beside me,/That High Street never looked so good./I miss my lady even though she often writes me./She tells me takes of my neighborhood.
Surprise, Surprise, I traveled here./Four hundred miles from where I’m known./My friends are here./A couple years I’ve spent, I found I have a second home.
As I’m blazing down my trail to education,/There’s no bliss in ignorance for me./I stop and stare, a breath of air might slow me down some./But that’s just fine with me.
Surprise, Surprise, I traveled here./Four hundred miles from where I’m known./My friends are here./A couple years I’ve spent, I found I have a second home.
I never traveled far./Two hundred miles to go./That boulevard will take me home.
Surprise, Surprise, I traveled here./Four hundred miles from where I’m known./My friends are here./A couple years I’ve spent, I found I have a second home./Surprise, Surprise, I traveled here./Four hundred miles from where I’m known./My friends are here./A couple years I’ve spent, I found I have a second home. – “Road Outside Columbus”, O.A.R.
Leave a comment

Filed under About Me, Ohio State

Leave a Reply

