Happy Harry Potter Week!

Remember the 30 day meme I did this spring? Same idea, just all about Harry Potter*. And in a week. Because that’s how long until Deathly Hallows comes out. And I’ve decided that this is Harry Potter week on my blog. (Because it’s my blog. And I can do what ever I want. And it gets me writing again. In additions to the post, I added something to the header…anyone else see it?)
Anyway, here we go! And obviously, I’d love to hear your thoughts/feelings towards the daily prompts. I love how many differing opinions there are in this community. Ron/Hermione//Harry/Hermione ship wars anyone? [Of course, my opinions are right.;) ]

Back to spells and enchanements, potions and friends/To Gryffindors! Hufflepuffs! Ravenclaws! Slytherins!/ Back to the place where our story begins/It’s Hogwarts, Hogwarts… -“Goin’ Back to Hogwarts”, A Very Potter Musical

No this wasn’t an excuse to post more of Darren Criss, new star of Glee. Because honestly, I’m more attracted to him since he got his Blaine haircut. Although, he’s still adorable, everyone in this video is. I’ve posted things from AVPM/AVPS before…This was an excuse to post a song that I feel fits with the mood and was new and…yeah, it has Darren Criss in it.

Day 1.1: Discuss how you got into Harry Potter.

I’m a bit of a bookworm. More before college, but still, I love to read. It’s been something that I’ve always done, as long as I remember. In kindergarten I was reading chapter books for book lists, when the other kids had to have their parents read them books (and then there was the fact that a kid in my class had to copy the ABC’s off of me. That I found out sophomore year…). In 3rd grade we had a competition for who could read the most books/pages/something in the year. The competition was for second place, everyone knew that I was going to win. In school, I ran out of books to read years before I actually graduated from that school (except college; now THAT would be impressive). It would be an understatement to say I’ve read a lot of books. I have a few that I can come back to over and over no matter where I am in my life (Little Women, anything penned by Jane Austen, Gone With the Wind). And only one that I remember reading for the first time. Or trying to read for the first time, moving on, and then coming back only because I was super bored. Little did I know that THAT book was going start an obsession and become my favorite book/series ever.

We were out at the mall getting stuff for my uncle’s wedding back in St. Louis. We were in the bookstore, and my parents started talking about this book that they had seen on the Today Show. My parents bought the first 2 (3?) books even though I wasn’t 100% on board. I pulled out the book in Marshall Field’s as my mom was trying stuff on. I could not get past the first chapter. It was so BORING.  Now, on the forever and a lifetime car ride to St. Louis, Harry Potter was more interesting than homework. So I started reading. And I read. And I read some more. And somewhere in that book, I decided that it wasn’t boring. It was FANTASTIC. And I never looked back.

I was upset when the movies came out, fearful that they would ruin the world I had created in my head. I even closed my eyes during the Sorcerer’s Stone trailer the first few (dozen) times I saw them. Eventually, I caved. I’ve seen every movie, multiple times. I just have separated them as two different worlds/stories. When I read the books I still see how I created the world. As hard as I try, Cedric still doesn’t look like Rob Pattinson.

Now, 10 years later, I’m still as madly in love with the wizard world. I have two sets of books, the American editions that I bought as they came out and the British box set. I am forever grateful that I took a chance on this story. I love talking about this world with others, and on rare occasions, I still get to introduce them to it. (I was one of the first people in my sixth grade class to get on the Hogwarts Express. I remember talking about it in class because it was in this little Scholastic current events magazine that we read in social studies class and no one else knew what was going on. ) Harry Potter is exactly what books should be- an escape to another world. It’s a fantastic world, that even with these out there properties, is still incredibly real and grounded. There’s a reason we have all waited for our Hogwarts letter…

*Meme compiled from the two Potter memes on 30 day memes.
Leave a comment

Filed under 30 Day Meme, Books, Movies

Leave a Reply

