Potter Week: Day 2

Since I’m craming 30 days into 7, I tried to group them as they fit into topics. Some days have more (like today’s 6 questions) and some have less (like yesterday’s 1).
Today’s topic: Books and movies

Day 2.1: Favorite book.


I love Deathly Hallows. It was such an amazing roller-coaster ride and perfect. And it contains my single favorite chapter of the Harry Potter series, the Snape chapter (The Prince’s Tale).

Day 2.2: Least favorite book.

I think that the fourth book, Goblet of Fire has this wrapped up. It’s the middle of the story, and it took a long time to get the story rolling. Plus I just didn’t have interest in the Qudditch World Cup or the Tri-Wizard Tournament. It has it’s importance, but mainly to set up that hey, Voldie’s back. But it has great things like the Harry/Ron friendship and really? I don’t dislike any of them. It’s like asking me order the Jonas Brothers. Yeah, Nick’s my favorite, and then Frankie and then Joe and Kevin are tied for third. But that doesn’t mean that I don’t like them. *

Day 2.3: Favorite movie.


Goblet of Fire (what? Yeah, I know.) It’s one that is incredibly true to the book, the acting of the trio had gotten MUCH better, the kinks had all been worked out, and Rob Pattinson isn’t a vampire with co-dependency issues.

Day 2.4: Least favorite movie


Half-Blood Prince. Most movie adaptations are horrible bastardizations of the book, but this was extra-horrible. So much was cut out, and if you hadn’t read the books you wouldn’t understand character’s motivations for doing the things that they did and it was just bad.

Day 2.5: A part of the books/movies that makes you cry.

The aforementioned Snape chapter. Actually, scratch that, most of Deathly Hallows. The book anyway, although I’m sure the movie will do the same thing to me. I cried through the end of Half-Blood Prince (the movie) just because of the anticipation, waiting for Snape to do what he had to do.

Day 2.6: Do you prefer the books or films?

The books. For the reasons that I almost boycotted the films to start with: imagination. That’s the whole point of books, right? It’s what we’re taught as kids: books can take you to new worlds. And Harry Potter is this fantastic, unbelievable, RICH world for the imagination. It’s so much fun to try and figure out these new things, like quditich. No one person had the same mental image until the movies. Even to this day, I still don’t picture things while reading exactly as they are in the movies. My original ideas still come to the forefront.

Plus, there is no way that a writer can cram all that J.K.R. puts in to these books in a 2 hour movie (see: Half-Blood Prince). It was okay up until Goblet of Fire, and then you started losing things, from smaller, peripheral plot lines like the actual Quiditch World Cup match. Then  you get to Half-Blood Prince that pretty much eliminated the whole “Half-Blood Prince” storyline.

*yeah, how’d you like that. I can apparently bring the Jonas Brothers in to many conversations right now.

1 Comment

Filed under 30 Day Meme, Books, Movies

One response to “Potter Week: Day 2

  1. Pingback: 30 Days of Potter (In a week) Master Post | Roads…which one will I take?

Leave a Reply

