Potter Week: Day 6

Everything else. Including a Twilight rant.

Day 6.1: A favorite quote

Anything that fits into the #deepthoughtswithalbusdumbledorehashtag. For example

“Dark and difficult times lie ahead. Soon we must all face the choice between what is right and what is easy.” Albus Dumbledore, Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire

and

“It does not do to dwell on dreams and forget to live…” Albus Dumbledore, Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone

Others include:

“Greatness inspires envy, envy engenders spite, spite spawns lies. You must know this, Dumbledore.” – Lord Voldemort

And of course, everyone’s favorite quote ever:

“NOT MY DAUGHTER, YOU BITCH” -Molly Weasley, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows

Day 6.2: Favorite location.


Diagon Alley of course. I can’t wait to go to Harry Potter World and kinda experience it just a little bit.

Day 6.3: Harry Potter or Twilight

And Harry Potter is not Twilight, you know. We’re not selling sex. – Emma Watson

Oh my god.  I could go days and days on this particular topic. I won’t lie. I enjoy Twilight. I have all the books, have seen the movies at midnight…But for me it is my trashy, romance novel escape. But it is not Potter. No. Jo Rowling and Stephanie Myers should NEVER be spoken in the same breath. Never ever ever. I hate that to get kids to read things they have to compare it to Twilight. Recently at Borders I saw copies of Pride and Prejudice and Wuthering Heights with Twilight-inspired covers (Wuthering Heights even had a label that proclaimed it “Bella and Edward’s Favorite Book!”) That just doesn’t sit right with me.

I don’t understand why the hate for Harry Potter I’ve found. Yes, he’s a douche. But he’s an endearing douche (okay, maybe I just found my issues in dating/choosing men/whatever). But seriously? I’ve seen people compare him to Bella Swan. Which just…no. No. That breaks my heart. A lot. Bella Swan is a Mary Sue. Stephanie Myers pretty much wrote a self-insert fic. It’s fine and all but she is a HORRIBLE role model for the girls/women reading these books. She’s co-dependent. She and Edward contemplate suicide because they are no longer together even though they’re 17 and have only known each other for a year. And Bella is perfectly fine with changing her entire being, who she is at the most fundamental level to be with Edward. What is that? I can’t imagine being a girl and thinking that this is an okay reaction to a boy.

Meanwhile, Harry Potter is almost the exact opposite. It inspired kids to read. Not because the book was Harry’s favorite book, but just for the principle of the thing. It got kids involved in reading again on this very core level. The characters are great role models for both girls and boys. And its just everything that Twilight’s not. And that’s enough of that.

Day 6.4: Your favorite celebs from the movies or fandom

Well, there is Darren Criss, from Team Starkid, the guys behind A Very Potter Musical/Sequel. If you haven’t caught that here or on Twitter. So that takes care of fandom. As far as the movies..Rupert is awesome. I love the fact that he has an ice-cream truck. But reality- these actors and actresses, that we’ve grown up with, have stayed so true and humble and awesome that I can’t singularly pick one.

Day 6.5: The Next Generation

I wasn’t anti-epilogue. It’s amazing to see how the improvement in J.K.R.’s writing style over the years. It did read a little fanfic-y, but at that point I was crying and had been on this super-emotional rollercoaster for the last ten hours and my sister grabbed the book out of my hand when I was done to read just the epilogue and she started laughing at which point I yelled at her to shut up, I loved it, and that I had to go to the bathroom (which is actually where book 7 started out at…we were spending the night at a hotel and I didn’t want to disturb others. Luckily the desk chair fit in the bathroom.) I mean, I would have started reading fan fiction about the next generation anyway, so it’s nice to have some little bit of canon to jump off from. I love the Rose/Scorpius pairing. And on a related note: what drugs were these people one when naming their children? Scorpius has to be the worst. Although Albus Severus doesn’t fare much better.

Day 6.6: Something you wish JKR had written about more.


I would love to read more about the first Order of the Phoenix. Mooney, Wormtail, Padfoot and Prongs and Lilly and the Longbottoms and the rest of them. But prequels always seem to be disappointing. Doesn’t mean I want it any less though.

1 Comment

Filed under 30 Day Meme, Books, Movies

One response to “Potter Week: Day 6

  1. Pingback: 30 Days of Potter (In a week) Master Post | Roads…which one will I take?

Leave a Reply

