Choose a job you love…

…and you will never have to work a day in your life.- Confucius

This is another tough week in picking a prompt…hence the lateness. But it turns out I could find a prompt that was fitting. You know…the on-going job hunt and all.

If you could have any job in the world, what would it be?

Once upon a time, I wanted to be a librarian. And now I’m an aspiring public relationist. (Not a real word. It’s correctly known as Public Relations Professional or something along those lines. But a friend came up with “public relationist” last year and I think it should become a real term. We’re taught in school to use brevity in the profession, so why is the title so many words…and now I’m going off on a tangent.) Right now, I think that someday, I would want to work for a NASCAR driver. Or Ohio State Athletics. Or just have a job in PR at all anywhere. If it happens to combine something I enjoy, like sports or entertainment or social media or heck, writing, that’s the icing on the cake.

So the top-3, in no particular order are…

1. Ice Cream Taste Tester- who wouldn’t want this job? (A. Someone who is lactose-intolerant or has a dairy allergy). It would have to be for Jeni’s. Or Edy’s/Dryer’s. I’d consider Ben and Jerry’s.

2. Football TV Timeout Guy- he’s the dude that walks out on the 15-yard-line (maybe it’s the 10. I can’t remember) with his headset on during TV timeouts. He stands there, talks to the ref, and then sticks his hand out before walking off the field. And then gets to watch the game. I studied this guy during this past season at Ohio Stadium, and it seemed to be the extent of it. Best. Job. Ever.

3. TV reviewer- I don’t know if you’ve noticed, but I love watching TV. To get paid for it would be even better…only issue is, I would probably have to watch some real crap. My streak of never watching Jersey Shore would probably end.

Bonus: What is the worst job you’ve ever had? What did you learn from it?

Once upon a time, I worked for a soul-sucking Big Box Store that will not be named. It was a long 3 months, in which I was the odd person out because I was going to college.

I learned that any job can be fun if you have to put the returns away at the end of the night. Because then you get a chance to play in the toy aisle. Toys make the world better. And if you try and have a positive attitude, you can make soul-sucking positions not so soul-sucking.

2 Comments

Filed under About Me, PostAWeek

2 responses to “Choose a job you love…

  1. Hmm what an interesting name your friend came up with…

    I can’t say I’ve had a “worst” job because all of them I’ve gone for have been ones I genuinely like. There are definitely aspects of each job that are “worse” though.

    Red Robin: smelling like food constantly and the stress of impatient people
    Nanny: Coming into the bathroom because Ben goes “uh oh” and seeing he has missed the toilet by two feet. Oh, I also hated the fact they could only watch 30 minutes of TV a day. I need more for my sanity!
    MS: Having someone put their name on my ideas

    Now I wouldn’t want job one (ice cream taster), but I would want to work at Scream Sorbet in San Francisco. The sorbet tastes just like ice cream and is absolutely amazing! http://www.screamsorbet.com/flavors.php

    When you visit me, I’ll take you.

    • jesslyn8706

      My friend is pretty smart…
      While being a nanny had it’s own challenges (poop. Everywhere.) I still had a ton of fun. It wasn’t soul-sucking. And I totally get what you mean about people putting their name on your ideas. That’s the disadvantage of being at the bottom. (It took me a while to figure out where you were talking about. But I got it.)
      Also….om nom. Here’s to hoping I ever get a job so I can visit!

Leave a Reply

