I Wish I May…

The topic for this week is…Describe your dream vacation.

I’ve already been on my dream vacation- Disney World. I longed to go to that theme park for years. I blame the fact that every TGIF show on ABC went. And this movie we got with a Barbie doll that was all about EPCOT. And what kid doesn’t want to go to Disney World anyways? Mickey and Cinderella’s Castle and Splash Mountain…I had dreams about this place.

It wasn’t until I was 18 that I actually went. My high school band goes every four years, and my turn was the spring of senior year. My parents, awesome as they are, took us down early. And suddenly, I wasn’t 18 anymore, mere months away from starting college. I was a carefree kid. One night, early in the trip, at Magic Kingdom, we watched the fireworks show, called “Wishes“. And Jiminy Cricket is talking about when you wish upon a star, your dreams will come true and then I’m crying. I became so overwhelmed that I was actually here, after all of these years of waiting, that I just broke down, right there and then. My mom looked over at me, and she started, and then my little sister started too.

The three of us (my dad and baby sister were standing behind us and had no clue what we were doing) just stood on Main Street, USA, watching the fireworks at Cinderella’s Castle crying. The good kind of crying.

Sure, I would love to go to Italy and eat. Or back to New York and get a chance to do the things I didn’t get to on the previous trips. Or go to Hogwarts. Or Hawaii and do the LOST tour. But as far as I can tell, none of those will ever have the emotions behind them that this trip to Disney World had. (Maybe the LOST thing. Only if the bamboo forest where Jack died is involved.)

I don’t know what vacation I can dream up that could ever be better than that moment. (False; I can. It’s having that same  moment with my own children.)

1 Comment

Filed under PostAWeek, Travel

One response to “I Wish I May…

  1. Pingback: I don’t wanna grow up… | Roads…which one will I take?

Leave a Reply

