Devil Town

All my friends were vampires
I didn’t know they were vampires
It turns out I was a vampire myself in the devil town

I was living in a devil town
I didn’t know it was a devil town
Oh lord it really brings me down about the devil town- “Devil Town”

1. I am really excited about the prompt I have today.

2. I am a little ashamed of how long and hard I had to think of an answer for this. There were pro/con lists made. I have too much time on my hands.

3. I pulled out a paper I wrote my sophomore year at Ohio State to help me write this. Yes, I wrote a paper about FNL. (It was to justify buying the second season.) And yes, I still have it. And yep, I am that cool.

If you could bring one fictional character to life for a day, who would you choose? What would you do for the day.

Oh, I know: the Weasley twins, Emma Woodhouse, reboot!Kirk and Bones, Doug Billings, Bobby Newman, Dr. Horrible, Chuck Bartowski, Amanda Tanen and Marc St. James, the Lorelai Gilmores, Richard Castle, Shawn Spencer and Burton Guster, Cappie, Dan Rydel and Casey McCall, Ellie Torres, Jim Halpert, Donna Moss (if you know all of these characters, I approve of your life choices)

But honestly, it took a moment to know who I would really chose in a heartbeat. It hurt to lose this character. I’ve babbled about the show that this character is from (Friday Night Lights) ad nauseum and it should have been a no-brainer.

The character? The town of Dillon, Texas.

screengrab from the second season opening credits

Wait, you’re screaming. That’s a place. Not a character.

Yes, it is a place. It’s a fictional place however. There is no Dillon in Texas. (Well, not anymore)

And ask any fan- Dillon is just as important of a character in FNL as the Taylor family. The town is so much more than the setting. It’s fluid and changing and there would be no show without Dillon. It simply couldn’t have worked without this community. The show revolves around the community, not the characters. There was a revolving door of characters, but Dillon was always there.

Dillon is a smallish town. It’s big enough to have an Applebees and two high schools, but everyone still seems to know each other. It shuts down for one thing: football.

Most of the businesses are mom ‘n’ pop shops. There’s a church on every corner.

The show focuses on a diverse community. Almost every age, race, religion, economic background, even sexual orientation, is represented in the show. Ultimately, football is the biggest thread that holds the community together. The sport takes over every corner of the town, from churches advertising babysitting during games to the women’s weekly book club not being about a book but about how the team is doing

It’s exactly the place I would have wanted to grow up in and yet would have hated. (Remember this. It will come back in a later blog post.)

When I started High School, I couldn’t wait to get out of Dillon. I thought every book I read was a rung on a ladder to escape this town that was all about high school football and nothing else. And now, that I’m actually getting close to leaving, I’m starting to appreciate that I was shaped by my town. That I have a different viewpoint that every other person. I guess what I’m trying to say is that I’m surprised by how happy I am to be where I’m from. Does that make any sense? – Julie Taylor

Obviously, if I had a choice, I would spend a Friday in Dillon. I would wander around from the Applebees where Tyra works to the drug store where Mr. Street is the pharmacist. I would head to the Alamo Freeze for lunch, where Matt and Smash would be working, and Julie and Landry would be hanging out. But mainly, I’m here for the football. Whether I’m rooting for the Panthers at Herman Field or the Lions in East Dillon, or heck in a converted cow field for semifinals…I just want to be a part of that game. See Eric Taylor in his finest.

And after…a beer at Buddys celebrating another Football Friday night.

I’ll never visit Dillon. (Obviously…fictional) But I feel like I’ve been there before. Because of the show. Friday Night Lights made this community real and breathing and ALIVE and of all of the characters in the show, this is the one that I’m going to miss the most.

Leave a comment

Filed under PostAWeek, Television

Leave a Reply

