Music Monday

(because who doesn’t love a little alliteration?)

New feature…every Monday, I’m going to post a song that I’m really attached to lately. I kind of go all over in music taste, so you have that to look forward to. And feel free to share your songs too. Most of my additions lately have been of the Glee-cover variety, so I’m always looking for more.

First up is a song I’ve been obsessed with lately. It first caught my attention in September, but I didn’t really pay attention to it until the last month or so. It’s unofficially part of The Social Network (it’s in the trailer) , which should explain why I’ve been listening to it so much. The lyrics are incredibly fitting, both working for why Movie!Mark Zuckerberg created Facebook, and the phenomenon as a whole.

I want you to notice when I’m not around
You’re so f***ing special
I wish I was special

But more so, out of the context of The Social Network, it is a fantastic song. Well, cover of a song; the original is by Radiohead. Coincidentally, it is a choir-cover, but it’s nothing like Glee.

The song is Creep by Scala & Kolacny Brothers. They are a Belgian girls’ choir conducted by Stijn Kolacny and arranged and accompanied by Steven Kolacny on the piano. They were formed in 1996, and have released five studio albums since 2002. It’s a little bit different than “Glee”, as it’s a classic choir, not a show choir. They have a different feel to them, but I love it.

It’s haunting and beautiful. I’ve listened to the original, and in my opinion, it doesn’t hold a candle to this version. Maybe because this is the version that I first fell in love with? But regardless, it is one of my favorite songs of the moment.

2 Comments

Filed under Music

2 responses to “Music Monday

    • jesslyn8706

      I lied. Who needs Scala & Kolacny Brothers when you have the lounge act version of Creep? This is awesome. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

