You know you’re more than this

Welcome to the 4th edition of Music Monday. Something struck me the other day…I haven’t written about my theme song. And so I’m choosing to fix that today. And yes, I have a theme song, doesn’t everyone?

I think every kid that’s read Harry Potter want’s to be a Gryffindor because Harry and his friends are. It’s what the hero is, and you want to be like hero. And most of the girls decide that they’re Hermione. I was one of those kids (although I’ve since decided I’m a Ravenclaw. But the Hermione of Ravenclaw house.) And even more so, the slightly nerdy ones that like reading books and could somewhat be considered as a know-it all and kind of a misfit. And has frizzy hair. Which totally doesn’t sound like me at all. I can’t imagine why I ever identified with her.

I’m a little nerdy. I like books. I like learning and classes. I can be a bit of a know-it-all. I was a little bit of an outcast in school outside of my group of friends. I have frizzy hair. I see myself in her compassionate side. (I totally would have been in SPEW.)

There’s so much I know how to do, so much more than all of you. The only thing I wish I knew was how to make them see the girl that I can be….I am
the coolest girl in the whole wide world. I know it but can’t show it at all.

I could totally see my boggart telling me I was a failure. Rowling says that Hermione has “quite a lot of vulnerability in her personality,” as well as a “sense of insecurity underneath,” feels “utterly inadequate.” Ask my mom about my personality and I think she would say something similar. Actually she would just say flat out that I have low-self esteem.

I am sick and tired of low, not higher places, where I should belong. It’s about time I proved them wrong…
Give me a shot to show what I’ve got! I’m a helluva whole lot more than this frizzy hair, these frumpy clothes I wear, though I rock ’em like nobody you’ve seen before

The greatness of A Very Potter… is the exaggeration of the characters. Harry is ultra-douchy. Ron is the super-sidekick. And Hermione is a giant geek outsider, especially in A Very Potter Sequel (which is actually a prequel, but I digress.) The sad part is, I still kind of identified with exaggerated Hermione. In A Very Potter Sequel, Hermione is at her know-it-aller, nerdiest, frizziest…best. Because after everyone one brings her down she has this realization…she’s the coolest girl. She’s not going to take this crap anymore, she knows that she’s awesome and isn’t that the most important thing? If you know that you’re awesome and force that persona on the world, they have to accept that.

I’ve listened to this countless number of times since last July: while applying for jobs, while running, while in the shower, when I’m down. You know, places and times you sing your theme song. And I believe every word when I do. Sometimes I feel like it was written just for me; which isn’t that how you’re supposed to feel about your theme song?

So you can try to bring me down, but sorry guys, I’m stickin’ around! I’ve thought about it, and I’ve found that I am the coolest girl!

Leave a comment

Filed under About Me, Music, Musicals

Leave a Reply

