You can pay back only seldom

Describe a debt you have yet to repay.

You can always pay forward, and you must pay line for line, deed for deed, and cent for cent. -Woody Hayes

If I want to be literal about this…there’s the student loans, there’s the car, plus some other things I have thats on credit from the Bank of Mom and Dad. But those are boring and don’t make for much of a blog post. And it just makes me (and my bank account) sad.

But more than that, I believe we are always in debt. But it’s not the kind to repay. If you live your life with the philosophy of pay it forward, then you always have some debt to clear. It might be because someone held a door open, or let you cut in line because you had one thing, or paid for your coffee/toll/whatever. If everyone paid it forward, even doing the smallest of good deeds, wouldn’t that make our world a better place? And it’s two-fold. Not only are you doing something good for someone else, it makes you feel good too.

Next time someone holds a door open for me, I’ll be sure to say thanks. But I’ll show my thanks by adding it to the ledger of the debts I need to pay forward.

Leave a comment

Filed under PostAWeek

Leave a Reply

