You, by the light, is the greatest find.

It’s Music Monday. It’s also Chuck Me Monday. So it’s only fitting that I chose a Zachary Levi song(s) today.

Zachary Levi is the star of Chuck. He’s also the Geek Prince. EW recently named Nathan Fillion as the Geek God, and it only made sense to me for Zachary to be the next in line. It’s only fitting as last year he rebranded his personal site to The Nerd Machine, plus he and Nathan are creating the Nerd HQ at SDCC, the nerd/geek mecca. I’ve enjoyed the heck out of him in Chuck for a couple of years now, and a majority of it comes because of this personality.

Recently (like last fall when Tangled came out) I found out Zachary can sing. And apparently other people agree because Katharine McPhee recoded a duet with him. And Disney let him sing and that song was nominated for an Oscar and they let him sing on the telecast.

I couldn’t chose between the songs, so today is a two for one day: First up is “Terrified”, a duet with Katharine McPhee, a lovely song about realizing you’re in love, real love, and being scared shitless, which I truly and honestly believe is a valid and honest reaction to that feeling.

I only said it cause I mean it/I only mean cause it’s true/So don’t you doubt what I’ve been dreaming/Cause it fills me up and holds me close/Whenever I’m without you

The second is my favorite (because I’m a child of the Alan Menken Disney era and was ridiculously excited to see his name again). It’s called “I See the Light” and is from Disney’s 50th animated offering, Tangled. Plus it takes part in my favorite scene of the movie. It’s a classic, amazing Disney love song.

And it’s warm and real and bright/And the world has somehow shifted/All at once, everything looks different/Now that I see you

Leave a comment

Filed under Music

Leave a Reply

