Baby you can drive my car

If you could pilot any vehicle, what would it be? (F-35, Death Star, The Enterprise, an aircraft carrier, anything goes). Why? Where would you go? What would you do?

This is a completely frivolous topic, and yet I knew I had to have it. Strangely enough, it was hard to chose. Option one is always and forever the #88 Chevrolet, normally piloted by Dale Earnhardt Jr, except I would just go around in circles, at one of those tracks where you drive wide open the entire time, driving as fast as I could before I scare myself. Because what else should one do with a racecar?

Ricky Bobby: I’m going fast again!
Cal Naughton, Jr.: How fast is he going?
Lucius Washington: 26 miles per hour. –Talladega Nights: The Ballad of Ricky Bobby

My other choice is Serenity. But only if the whole crew came along, and it was pre-Serenity the movie. I would hang out with Walsh, playing with the dinosaurs while he taught me to fly and be awesome friends with Kaylee and Inara, and inappropriately hit on Captain Tightpants. I would want to go somewhere that sells iceplants, and learn how to curse in Mandarin. And we would go be Big Damn Heroes somewhere, only I would probably stay back with Simon. As long as we don’t go to the smelly moon where they worship Jayne or Miranda, I think I would be okay with just floating around the ‘Verse with this shiny crew.

Kaylee: You like ships. You don’t seem to be lookin’ at the destinations. What you care about is the ships, and mine’s the nicest.

Book: She don’t look like much.

Kaylee: Oh, she’ll fool ya. -“Serenity”, Firefly

And lastly, I would like to pilot the Hogwarts Express all the way to Hogwarts and then finally get my chance at being a Hogwarts student. Because that darn owl must have gotten lost when he was delivering my letter. I’d just have to muster up the courage and believe that if I run into the brick wall between platforms 9 and 10 at King’s Cross Station, I will not hit the wall, but rather go through it and finally find platform 9 and 3/4. That to me seems like the scariest part, doesn’t it.

A scarlet steam engine was waiting next to a platform packed with people. A sign overhead said Hogwarts Express, 11 o’clock. Harry looked behind him and saw a wrought-iron archway where the ticket box had been, with the words Platform Nine and Three-Quarters on it. He had done it. –Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone.

Leave a comment

Filed under PostAWeek

Leave a Reply

