Easily Attached.

Something’s been nagging at me all day, like I forgot to do something. It took me numerous realizations that it was Friday until I remembered I was behind a blog post! I was distracted all last night due to the epic finales of Bones and Parks and Recreation. But I’m here now. Better late than never, someone says.

Who is the character from a book that has made you feel so close to him/her that you simply can’t stop thinking what’s gonna happen next?

I love characters. A good story is awesome, good characters make it all better though. That’s probably why I’m one of the few satisfied with the LOST finale; it was about the characters, not the questions.

I get close to them; I cry with them and I laugh with them.

So this prompt is actually pretty hard for me. Not because I have to think hard who to pick, I have to think hard of who to pick out of a myriad of characters.

There’s the March sisters of Louisa May Alcott’s Little Women. Oh how I relate to them all. I’m the oldest sister, like Meg and would be content with the life she has with her husband and twins. There’s Jo’s love of fiction and imagining herself in anyplace but where she is. I wish I was more like sweet, kind, gentle Beth. And I can be jealous and selfish like Amy. Even though Alcott has clearly defined where the March sisters end up, it’s easy to wonder “what if” with the girls and imagine where they would have been with tiny little differences.

And then there’s the other set of characters I grew up with, the ones constantly making me wonder what adventure they would be on next school year- the students of Hogwarts. For almost a decade we were left wondering what’s next for Harry, Hermione and Ron, and the rest of the wizarding world. From the very first book I found myself especially attached toHermione (even though I had no idea of how to say her name.) She was the studious one, the less adventurous one. I wanted to know what she would do next, how her life would play out.

These are the characters that stick with me long after the book is closed.

Leave a comment

Filed under Books, PostAWeek

Leave a Reply

