I don’t wanna grow up…

What makes you feel like you’re still a kid?

This one is easy- living with my parents. I keep waiting for them to scold me for my room being a disaster. They haven’t done that as much as they used to. I still can’t get used to it. I’m waiting for them to ground me still because I’ve been reading when I should be cleaning.

Other things do as well.

Like Disney World. I was 18, standing on Main Street, USA bawling during the fireworks because I was so excited to be there.

Or anything else Disney or Pixar for that matter.

Or the fact that I have a Tangled coloring book and a box of 64 crayons next to my bed that I use often.

And Harry Potter. Especially when I first restart the series. Suddenly I’m 11, waiting for my Hogwarts letter.

Eating Kraft Macaroni and Cheese. Or fruit cocktail. Or drinking chocolate milk or Shirley Temples.

Chocolate/vanilla twists and Ducky Bars.

Christmas. With the lights and the Santa and the snow and trees and presents and hope and wonderment and imagination.

Naps. Although I’ve been claiming for years now that naps are wasted on the young. You appreciate them as an adult, you take them as a kid.

Bonus: What makes you feel like an adult? If you’re not an adult, what do you think will make you feel like an adult.

Being terrified about the future. Thinking about the future. Knowing there’s a future beyond what’s going to happen to Michelle Tanner next and when the next Harry Potter book comes out.

Worrying about things like bills and work and not having any time for the things that make you feel like a kid.

While I don’t mind feeling more like an adult, I hope I never lose those little remnants of childhood and being a kid.

Leave a comment

Filed under PostAWeek

Leave a Reply

