The Social Network

Google recently released Google+, a new social network. Do you think you need another social network? Do you prefer real social networks (people you actually see regularly), or are you happy with the digital social networks you use? Or do you avoid them all on principle?’

(added retroactively on 7/14)

Hi. My name is Jessica and I’m a social media addict.

Facebook me. Tweet me. Find me on Ravelry. And Google+. And tumblr. And LinkedIn. Yelp. And GetGlue. Shelfari too. I might still have a myspace profile. I know I still have a LiveJournal account. And I have accounts on flickr and DailyBooth I never use. There are probably more accounts out there that I don’t even realize I have. Oh, and there’s this blog too.

It’s not as if I don’t go out and interact with real society. I know people in real life.

Social media just makes my world that much bigger.

It allows me to keep in touch with a friend inSan Francisco. And another one inNashville. Before social media, we probably would have drifted away quickly. It’s made our world smaller.

My family can easily share information, things like pictures that we would normally never share.

I can find PR professionals to share ideas with, ones from all walks of life. Same with knitters.

I am able to interact with actors, musicians and athletes I would never even get the chance to say hi to. I’ve been quoted in an ESPN story. I’ve interacted with favorite sports writers about mundane topics.

I can find people that are interested in a certain television show or book or movie and talk to them about it, even if this is the only thing we have in common. Get their perspective which may be so uniquely different from those of the people around me because their life is so different. Or not.

Social media has opened up our worlds in an incredible way.

It’s changed the way that businesses interact with consumers. As someone at a social media seminar put it, “we (consumers) have a voice now. We’re not going to shut up.” We can easily share recommendations with other consumers and allow businesses to see what they’re doing well and where they can improve.

If used correctly, social media is an amazing tool that we have. It’s no substitute for real relationships. I still call my family. And my far-away friends get real letters and cards on occasion. And I talk to people face to face.

And let’s get serious here for a minute. If you avoid all social media on principle, what are you doing on a blog?

2 Comments

Filed under PostAWeek

2 responses to “The Social Network

    • jesslyn8706

      It’s like this prompt was created for me. Do I need another social network? Do I need another purse? Do I need that pair of shoes? The answer is always YES. I might only use them once, but I’m going to get it anyways.

Leave a Reply

