I dreamed a dream.

Why do some people’s dreams get realized, and others don’t? Make a list of the factors you think are involved, including the ones people do and don’t have control over.

(added retroactively on 7/14)

I used to dream of being a gymnast. And a Broadway star. Now I dream of owning a tea room/yarn store.

I can’t do a cartwheel. I’ve tried. And you don’t want to hear me sing. Although that particular problem hasn’t stopped lots of people. I’m listening to the Mamma Mia soundtrack right now and Colin Firth didn’t let the fact he can’t sing stop him.

And I don’t have the money to start my own business.

Our dreams don’t get realized because of the “I can’t”s. Some of them are way beyond our control. We weren’t built to play that sport. We weren’t given the blessing of being able to carry a tune and hit the high notes.

But sometimes the “I can’t” is just an easy out. “I can’t” is easier to say than to come up with the ways that we can. We could start out small and sell scones at farmers markets and start a business by word of mouth and get to the bigger dream eventually by working hard. The working hard part is what keeps many of us from obtaining our dreams. Or feeling we’re too old. Or too young. Or any other excuse we can come up with.

And fear. Clearly I’ve been thinking about starting something, but I have no idea where to start and the idea of doing it TERRIFIES me. There’s a possibility I could fail big and that scares me. So I’ll push it to the back of my mind and it will be one of those things I always talk about, but never get to doing because I can’t.

Instead, we should all give “I can” a chance.

Let’s live like Colin. And don’t give a darn and just DO it.

Leave a comment

Filed under About Me, PostAWeek

Leave a Reply

