I solemnly swear…

Fourteen years ago, a book was published.

Twelve years ago, I picked that book up.

Ten years ago, that book was made into a movie.

This weekend, the final chapter, the last movie adaptation was released.

And all I could do was cry as the last remaining new thing from my childhood came to a conclusion.

Yes, Harry Potter will continue to live. Hogwarts will always be there for us to make our way back to. One day, we might even have kids and get to relive the magic through their eyes. But it will never be the same.

We’ll never have the anticipation of what comes next, the days and hours and moments leading up to the next release.

Never open a book or walk into the theater and have NO IDEA what Jo Rowling has up her sleeve this time. For those of us, the first generation of Hogwarts students, it’s like graduation day.

I told my sister that it’s like the last remaining horicrux of my childhood has been destroyed. And it does feel like that. My playhouse was torn down last year, along with the school that I grew up in. The toys I played with are long gone, no more Barbies strewn about. My grandparents are about to leave the town where I spent my time with them, and my parents are planning on leaving my hometown as well.

I’ve come to the realization that I’m growing up. And I don’t like it. Not one bit.

Harry Potter was an escape from that. I was eleven the first time I picked up a Harry Potter book. My parents told me to read it. And I did. It took a moment, but I loved that world. And I’ve never stopped loving it.

My four favorite books growing up were the Little House on the Prairie series, Little Women, the American Girl books and Harry Potter.

Two of them were over long before I found them. Another I grew out of.

But Harry? I grew UP with him. We started out the same age, and have dealt with the confusing emotions of growing up together.

That’s why this last moment of newness hurts so much. It’s like saying goodbye to a childhood friend before you move apart from each other. Yeah, you’ll keep in touch and be there for the big things but it’s never the same.

I’m not fully grown up. Hope to never be. With Harry in my life, I probably never will be. But for now…

Mischief managed.

Leave a comment

Filed under Books, Movies

Leave a Reply

