This is real, this is me.

Do you blog anonymously or do you blog as “yourself”? Why?

The Internet is a funny thing. I don’t think you can ever be anonymous. Someone is going to figure out who you are, you might as well own up to it. Guys, Mark Zuckerberg will find out and tell EVERYONE. (Yes, I believe that Zuckerberg is the evil overlord of the Internet. And I will probably lose my Facebook privileges for this comment. Err…Mr. Zuckerberg? I think your dog is adorable and you were really good on Saturday Night Live. Can I pretty please keep Facebook?)

I’ve dawdled in thinking about starting an anonymous blog, detailing my frustrations in the job market. But I am terrified that someone is going to find out it’s me. And that someone is going to be a future employer and it’s all going to go downhill. I’m worried that I’m going to be dooced. Instead, I freely share these writings with everyone, including a nice link on my resume.

Obviously, I blog as myself. I’m pretty sure my real name is on here. And pictures of me. Go ahead, steal my identity. I dare you. You’re not gonna get much. (Okay, I take that back. I don’t have much, but I like being me. Please don’t steal my identity. I said I was sorry, Zuck.)

The best part about blogging as yourself- you’re accountable. You think twice about what you’re putting out there. The Internet’s not written in pencil, Mark, it’s written in ink (Okay, I’m done now. I have no idea how Mark Zuckerberg took over this post. I should cite that last bit as a quote from The Social Network) . If you post something, it’s going to be there FOREVER. Your kids might decide to go find it. Employers ARE going to find it. And they really don’t need an excuse not to hire you. If your real identity is intrinsically linked to your online persona, you might take the extra second to think before hitting post on that nasty tweet/post/comment. I know it’s stopped me from numerous situations that I think about the next day and am grateful that my comments didn’t make it past my own mind.

It didn’t stop you from writing it. As if every thought that tumbles through your head was so clever it would be a crime for it not to be shared…You write your snide bullshit from a dark room because that’s what the angry do nowadays. -Erica Albright, The Social Network

Anonymity on the Internet can be a dangerous weapon. People hide behind numbers and letters and grey & white avatars and make mean, nasty, horrendous comments that they would never say in the real world. It leads to so many problems. And one day, something is going to slip and you’re going to be found out. Step up, be yourself and own your comments. It may not stop these problems, but at least people will have to be accountable for what they say.

Leave a comment

Filed under About Me, PostAWeek

Leave a Reply

