Dinner for Shmucks

*except none of these people are shmucks. I haven’t seen the movie yet either. Yes, I’m going to see the movie, because Ron Livingston is in it and he’s in far too few things for me to miss one.

Assemble your dream dinner guest list. Think of all the famous, or infamous, people living or dead, and pick 6 to share a fine meal with. Who do you pick? Why? What do you expect to happen?

1. My grandfather. I swear, growing up I thought he knew EVERYTHING. I know now that he doesn’t, but I think it’s pretty close, or at least he sounds like he might.  So regardless of who else I invite, Paw-paw is included because he’s gonna provide for some FABULOUS conversation.

2. Jon Stewart. I believe that he’s one of the funniest and smartest people on television now. You could quite possibly talk to him about any subject. And isn’t that the perfect dinner party guest?

3. Major Richard Winters. Knowing about him, he probably wouldn’t want to talk about his amazing accomplishments, leading Easy Company, 2nd Battalion of the 506th Infantry Regiment of the 101st Airborne Division during World War II. He led his men through D-Day, Operation Market Garden and the Battle of the Bulge, ending their wartime duties occupying Eagle’s Nest and Austria. He had numerous medals and honors bestowed upon him. He and his company are one of the most famous from the era thanks to Band of Brothers and his leadership and honor has become an inspiration to me in the years since learning about him.

4. Mark Zuckerberg. Like him or not, the man changed the world and the way we communicate. Social media isn’t going anywhere and Facebook is the leader of the medium. One in nine people in the WORLD are on Facebook. He’s undeniably talented and a genius and I would love to see what he’s really like and have a conversation about social media with him.

5. Jo Rowling (like bowling. Pottercast, I will never not say this…) This woman went from nothing to creating this magical world that I love to visit. To spend any amount of time with her and to know HOW she came up with the things that she did would be an honor.

6. Dame Maggie Smith. Because she is a bad-ass. There’s really no way to put it. She was so determined to see the Harry Potter franchise out that she filmed the last three Harry Potter movies while battling breast cancer. Her McGonagall was one of my favorite things about the final film. I love everything I’ve seen her in and even more so, I’ve loved reading and seeing interviews with her. She seems like an genuinely fantastic and funny person.

I would imagine my grandfather would start with Jon, and talk politics for a while. My grandpa says he like Jon, but he also is entirely devoted to Fox News, so I would imagine the conversation would be quite interesting. And then he would move on to Major Winters. I can also imagine him, Jon and Major Winters having an amazing, in-depth conversation about something…anything. The war, the current world, the food. And Jon would probably throw a zinger Zuckerberg’s way every once in a while…just because. I would love to hear Jo and Maggie discuss Potter and the world that they had a part in playing. Zuck and Jo created two defining cultural touchstones for my generation; I wonder if their insights to this knowledge compare in anyway. Maggie has an incredible sense of comidic timing (see the “boom” in Deathly Hallows) and it would be interesting to see her and Jon interact.

When it boils down to it, my dinner party is filled with smart, witty, inspiring people that I can’t help but wonder how they would interact.

And as for the menu? We’re much to involved in conversation to care what’s on the plate.

1 Comment

Filed under PostAWeek

One response to “Dinner for Shmucks

  1. I didn’t know Maggie Smith was battling breast cancer. Strong woman.

Leave a Reply

