Ravellenic Games 2012

Back in February 2010, not long after I started this blog, I discussed how I always wanted to be an Olympian. And while that dream is not going to ever happen, mainly revolving around my shocking lack of any athletic skills. (Watch me run a 15 minute mile. You can hardly see me as a I blaze by…)

So when the knitting social site Ravelry started the Ravelympics during the 2008 Beijing games, I jumped on board. Knit? I could do that. I’d been doing that for three years at that point (after the awkward three months it took me to actually figure the skill out).  The Ravelympics were based off of the Knitting Olympics started by knitting author/designer Stephanie Pearl-McGee (aka the Yarn Harlot).

The main rule of the Ravelympics is  to “challenge yourself by starting and finishing one or more projects during the 2012 Summer Olympics.” That’s it. Nice and simple. The most important thing is to select a challenging project and complete it at the conclusion of the Olympics. It kicks off when the Opening Ceremony begins in London and ends at midnight GMT on the last night of the Games. Four years ago, I knit my first pair of socks (socks that are now part of my Buckeye football cold-weather getup) and a pair of handwarmers that were gifted. Two years ago, I completed a shawlette/scarf and hat made out of an earlier attempt of the shawlette scarf that I tore out as an additional Ravelympic event. This year the docket includes two lace shawls that have been sitting in the queue for over a year. The challenge is just the pure amount of knitting that will have to be done in two weeks.

You may have heard of the Ravelympics when earlier this summer, it was announced on Ravelry that the site had been served with a cease-and-desist letter. I got that…the Olympics are copyright protected and they don’t look fondly on people using it or any modification of it. What I didn’t appreciate was the wording of the letter, insisting that the event was disrespectful to the Olympic athletes. That created a massive PR mess that you can make your own judgements on. That’s not what I’m here for.

But the knitters weren’t dettered and the event has been re-christened the Ravellenic Games. And I’m ready to knit. (I haven’t completed a project in a YEAR. Well, other than the fingerless mitts I whipped up the night before an Ohio State game. But for some reason, I don’t count those.)

The moments before the Opening Ceremony today will be spent finding the yarn and needles I need (I may have never unpacked all of my craft items). Thank goodness I can find replacement equipment easily if I need to, unlike the pole vaulters.

I can’t wait for the actual Olympics either- I will watch it all thanks to finally having a DVR. And I can’t wait for my favorite part of any Olympic Games…Bob Costas. Look forward to another Bob Costas sit-down when this is all said and done. Stick around and wait for the excitement.

How freaking amazing is this score? I love John Williams so much and this score gets me amped up for the Olympics every time.

Ravellenic Games 2012 Events: *

(*Subject to change. And they probably will. I can’t make up my mind. Yes, it’s kind of a problem.)

Damson by Ysolda Teague or Annis by Susanna IC in Reflections Simply Sock. I’m not sure which one I want to do. I originally bought the yarn for Damson, but the past couple of days I’ve leaned towards the unusual shaping of Annis. I’m kind of like a gymnast with two different vaults and not sure which one to use in competition. (Events: Lace Long Jump, Shawl Sailing, Single Skein Sprint and Synchronized Stash Busting)

Travelling Woman by Liz Abinante in Ella Rae Lace Merino. Somewhere between a shawl and shawlette in size, the yarn was purchased on Chincoteague Island in Virginia during a vacation two years ago, so the pattern seems appropriate. (Events: Lace Long Jump, Shawl Sailing, Single Skein Sprint and Synchronized Stash Busting)

Leave a comment

Filed under Internet, Knitting, Sports

Leave a Reply

