Round and round we go…

The first time I heard this song I thought how clever it was with all of the Mary/merry. Then I listened to the lyrics a little closer.

If you ain’t got two kids by 21,/You’re probably gonna die alone/At least that’s what tradition told you.

Oh hey. I know that feeling.

We get bored so we get married/And just like dust we settle in this town.

Well…damn. Has Kacey been to my hometown?

We think the first time’s good enough/So we hold on to high school love/Say we won’t end up like our parents.

Tiny little boxes in a row/Ain’t what you want it’s what you know/Just happy in the shoes you’re wearin’.

Maybe she’s read my thoughts about my hometown/my graduating class? Or is it possible that a country artist is saying “Hey small towns. You ain’t all you’re cracked up to be in this generation?”

I adore this song. It verbalizes so much about what I feel about where I grew up. Not necessarily the feelings I had while I was growing up; more the feelings I had when I returned three years ago after college. Also known as the longest and most miserable two years of my life.

If this song had been released two years ago, it would have been my jam. As it stands – it’s still my jam. Kacey Musgraves is my new favorite country artist. The anti-Taylor if you’d like. She portrays the harsher realities of the world – especially the small towns so much of country music identifies with.

Jack and Jill went up the hill/Jack burned out on booze and pills/And Mary had a little lamb/Mary just don’t give a damn no more.

Leave a comment

Filed under About Me, Music

Leave a Reply

