All I could do was love you hard and let you go.

I’m going to be a hipster for a minute, if you’d be so kind to indulge me.

I don’t know when I first found The Last 5 Years…2006? It was some time after it had first production.

But I certainly found it before the news about the movie with Anna Kendrick and Jeremy Jordan came out. Although – hella excited about this. As much as I love my Norbert Leo Butz Jamie – he’s a little…old. Dream casting would be Aaron Tveit. I’ll take it though. I’m not complaining… and I’m getting back to the point.

The point being I loved The Last 5 Years before you did. *sticks tongue out*

It’s a beautiful one-act musical told in a truly unique way. It consists of ONLY two characters – Jamie and Cathy. Jamie starts the story at the beginning. Cathy starts it at the end. They meet in the middle. You can see how the relationship builds and breaks and it breaks your heart as it does. The characters alternate songs – so one minute you’re exuberantly happy with Jamie, then viewing the pain of a broken relationship with Cathy…and it goes on.

There isn’t a song that I don’t love. “Still Hurting” has gotten me through a break-up.

Jamie is over and where can I turn?/Covered with scars I did nothing to earn/Maybe there’s somewhere a lesson to learn/But that wouldn’t change the fact/That wouldn’t speed the time/Once the foundation’s cracked/And I’m/Still Hurting

My favorite from the one bootleg I’ve seen is “Nobody Needs to Know” – it’s when I fell in love with Norbert Leo Butz as an actor – and it’s when I hated Jamie.

Look at us, lying here/Dreaming, pretending/I made a promise and I took a vow/I wrote a story/And we changed the ending/Cathy, just look at me now!

“The Next Ten Minutes” is the mid-point of the story. Jamie and Cathy get closer in their story telling, meeting for a few brief moments in the middle, and then pass each other by.

Till the world explodes/Till there’s no one left/Who has ever known us apart

It’s a beautiful moment…and yet it still foreshadows what we have yet to see from Jamie. And caps off the heartbreak of Cathy’s story.

I love this musical and am so glad it’s getting a chance to be recognized in the ‘mainstream’. Just remember…I found it first.

Leave a comment

Filed under Movies, Music, Musicals

Leave a Reply

