This is one night I wish I could rewind.

Went by so fast oh so sweet/Make me wanna remake a memory/Wish I had me a time machine

(side note – what the hell Gary LeVox? You’re like…old now [nope, just looked him up on Wiki. He’s 43. He IS old. I’m old. I saw them for the first time in 2001. He would have been 30.])

Guys. I’ve become that girl. So ridiculously THAT girl.

During my blogging hiatus, I resorted to online dating. It was bad. SO BAD. So bad it could only be funny. (And I did get HOURS of entertainment out of the horribly bad messages. In fact, I was a little sad the day I disabled my account because now I don’t get that free entertainment). I can count on one hand the number of guys I even went out with. (I could even accidentally chop off a few fingers and still be able to count.)

Last August though – I got a message from a guy. He seemed to 1. have actually read my profile and 2. had a decent profile that made me want to know a little more about him (no trigger words talking about his excessive love of hiking/rock climbing/camping or working out; no mention of how he was there to hook up only; how enjoys chilling; or any other horrible things I’ve read that I can no longer recall…) So I messaged him back – and from there we’ve ‘talked’ almost every single day. Seven whole months of messaging, texting, face-to-face conversations (no phone – probably because of my massive aversion to the telephone. Seriously. I hate that thing. I’d rather FaceTime. And that says a lot because for one I have to do my hair and the other I don’t. And my hair can be a beast.)

After a few months, we actually got to meet up. Yes – it did take us an abnormally long time. Maybe I was scared. (I was) Maybe I was nervous. (I was) Maybe I was busy. (I was) Maybe I was making excuses because of the first two reasons (I did)

But then we did meet. And now it’s been four months of seeing each other almost every week. And I got told recently how happy I’ve been the last few months and maybe that’s true (it is) and maybe I’m having a lot of fun (I am) and maybe I play this song every weekend on my way home (I do) because I wish we could go back to the beginning of it because time flies by so fast when we’re together. (As Ted Mosby famously [recently {kinda creepily}] said I’m “remembering this”. Every stupid moment of puppy love.)

I can’t tell where this is going to go, but I know right now it’s fun and exciting and new and makes me happy. So far, they’ve all been nights I wish I could rewind…

Leave a comment

Filed under About Me, Music

Leave a Reply

