Someday I’m going to be famous…

…do I have talent? Well no… – “Celebrity”, Brad Paisley

Who HASN’T dreamt of being famous.

Having lots of money and fame and fortune and the ability to do anything you want.

I’m sure famous people have it easy. (Except for Gwenyth. And THAT right there is the reason I wouldn’t want to be famous. I couldn’t deal with the internet trolls.)

I’ve wanted to be everything – I wanted to be an author, an actor and every Olympic cycle I’m convinced I could have been an athlete. I totally could have been a gymnast – minus my total lack of flexibility. Or a figure skater – minus my total lack of coordination. Or an ice dancer – again, minus my total lack of coordination. My swizzles would have been AWESOME. Or a swimmer – minus my lack of height. Or a diver – minus my total lack of flexibility and my paralyzing fear of heights.

And all minus my complete and total lack of athleticism. I think that’s the true reason I never became an Olympian.

And then there’s the fact I wanted (want) to be a Broadway actor. Minus the fact that I’m paralyzed when the focus is on me. And I can’t carry a tune to save my life.

Now I’m content where I am. My job at a not-for-profit isn’t going to make me famous (most likely) and it’s certainly not going to make me rich. But it makes me happy and I *usually* enjoy going to my job. I don’t have paparazzi stalking me and I don’t have internet forums dedicated to talking about my massive thighs. We’re facinated by the lives of celebrities (and making people celebrities see: the Kardashians) but I don’t think we realize that it might have some downsides. Not that I feel sorry for them.

And while I may not have any talents that will make me famous, if I get really desperate, there’s always the next season of the Bachelor.

Inspired by the following prompt: Have you dreamt of becoming famous? What would your claim to fame be? Comedy? Acting? Writing? Race car driving? Go!
Leave a comment

Filed under About Me

Leave a Reply

