Do It Anyway

Call it surrender but you know that that’s a joke /And the punchline is you were never actually in control /But still, surrender anyway 

Guys, let’s be honest – this song was going to win me over based on the video with the combination of Anna Kendrick + Chris Hardwick + Fraggles. But then I heard the song – 1. the tune is incredibly catchy 2. the lyrics are kinda cool and Jessica’s across time appreciate them.

Go on and do it anyway 

It’s kinda become a motto.

At times.

I used to not do much. I was afraid of failing, so I wouldn’t try anything new. I was afraid of disappointing myself, or more importantly, someone else.

I still don’t always “do it anyway”. But I have to admit – I’m becoming more adventerous in my old age. I used to not be one to climb out on a limb. If things terrified me – that was it. I wasn’t going to do it, try it, go near it. I still have my hang ups – but I’m going to think twice about saying no.

Tell me what I said I’d never do /Tell me what I said I’d never say /Read me off a list of the things I used to not like but now I think are ok 

I used to be scared of flying. I don’t ENJOY it, but I don’t mind it.

If I didn’t know what a food was I wasn’t going to try it. Now I attempt to eat it – unless there’s peppers, mushrooms or onions. I still don’t like it.

I wanted to be comfortable in the middle. Now I strive to put myself out on a limb (one not far from the ground) to attempt to make myself stand out a little – at work and in life.

I used to hate sci-fi. Then I watched Eureka and Firefly and Battlestar Galalatica.

I was terrified going on a date (especially via an online site) – he was going to be a douche; he was just in it for physical aspects (or worse, he was and then immediately changed his mind after seeing me); I wasn’t going to be attracted to him. Okay – I’m not doing this with a lot of people; just one and it’s seemed to work out okay so far.

I was scared of going out of my comfort zone – doing something I hadn’t been doing my entire life.  I wasn’t progressing anywhere in my life. Because I was afraid of failing – now I’m willing to try. Even if it turns out it wasn’t the right thing in the end.

And if you’re paralyzed by a voice in your head /It’s the standing still that should be scaring you instead 

Leave a comment

Filed under About Me, Music

Leave a Reply

